Fi's Mutterings

Disney, running, swimming, living with disability, challenges…

Journal Jar – Best Subjects at School

What were  your best and worst subjects in elementary school? In middle school? In high school?

OK, this is what I get for getting my journal jar prompts from an American site.  Elementary, middle and high school?  We have infants, junior and senior or primary and senior.  Just need to do a quick bit of research…

According to Wikipedia – Education in the US, elementary school is the same as primary school in the UK, from 5-11 or 12, middle school (or junior high) is from 11-14 and high school is from 14-18.

So, here are my answers to today’s prompt:

My best subjects in primary school were Maths, English and Geography.  My worst subject was definitely History, I could never remember all the dates of the Kings and Queens of England!

My best subjects in what we now know as KS3, were still Maths, English and Geography but I also enjoyed German.  My worst subject was still history and I gave History up when I chose my subjects for GCSE.

So, on to the high school age group.  This is actually quite hard as in the UK we split high school into the GCSE part – up to age 16 – and then, if you wanted, you can leave and go to work or you can continue to A-Levels.  My best subjects at GCSE were English and German, I also enjoyed Maths and Geography.  My worst subject was Physics, in fact I took the GCSE exam twice!  For A-Level, I only took English Literature, Geography and German and didn’t do very well at any of them.  I loved Geography though and would have gone to do a degree in Geography if I’d got the grades I needed.

Which were your best and worst subjects at school?  Do you like them now?
I actually quite like history now that I can choose which parts I want to learn about.  I still don’t know the dates for the Kings and Queens of England though 😉

Author: fisefton

Mum, Wife, Runner, Administrator, Bookkeeper, Tupperware Lady, Chief Bottle Washer, General Dogsbody...

Comments are closed.