Fi's Mutterings

Disney, running, swimming, living with disability, challenges…

Floods in York

2 Comments

I’m sure most people have heard about the floods in the North of England this week.  We weren’t at home when they came on Saturday/Sunday as we had gone down to my parents’ for Christmas and only came home yesterday (Monday).  Looking at the coverage on the news I can honestly say that in the 14 years we have been living in York I have never seen the river so high and I’ve never seen the Foss break it’s banks.

The River Ouse floods every autumn/winter and the pubs and flats along the river flood every year with the water going into the carparks of the Skeldergate properties on a regular basis as they are right on the river.

We went for a walk in to the city centre today and I took some photos of the river and the Knavesmire (race course).  The water isn’t as high today as it was on Sunday but it’s still pretty high.  I don’t think we’ll be doing parkrun this week as we usually run round the inside of the barriers of the race course.

2015-12-29 06.39.36

Author: fisefton

Mum, Wife, Runner, Administrator, Bookkeeper, Tupperware Lady, Chief Bottle Washer, General Dogsbody...

2 thoughts on “Floods in York

  1. It must have been daunting going home. Hope your home was OK.

    • Thanks. I knew our house would be OK as we are about 3 or 4 miles from the river. I’ll start worrying when it rains so much that the Knavesmire “lake” gets up to the road because we are about a mile away but downhill from there.