Fi's Mutterings

Disney, running, swimming, living with disability, challenges…

Running in 2015

1 Comment

2015 was a fantastic year for running events with Adam.  At the beginning of the year, we were going to take part in the 3 events of the Yorkshire Season Ticket with Run for All events (Hull, Leeds and York), as well as the Great Yorkshire Run in Sheffield.  We then added the runDisney Wine and Dine Half Marathon and the York 10 Mile which was added to the Yorkshire Marathon during the Summer.

First was the Hull 10K in June.  The day was wonderful for running, overcast with a little drizzle 🙂 and, for a change the course was flat-ish with no big hill or flyover to run up near the end.  We finished in a personal best time of 1:07:21.

Next up was Leeds 10K in July.  The day was warm and sunny.  The course was almost the same as the Leeds Abbey Dash in November so nice and flat down the dual carriageway and back until you have to go back towards the city centre and run up the exit slip-road!  We started at the back, literally, because after needing to stop for the toilet at the Great Yorkshire Run last year I kept going to the toilet as often as possible until we started moving towards the start line 😉  Still, it was a good run and we finished in 1:09:52.

The last run of the Yorkshire Season Ticket was the York 10K.  I have run every York 10K event since they started in 2009 so this was my 7th.  I love this event, not least because I get to run through my home city which, of course, is beautiful.  A lovely run and I think Adam and I have got our pacing sorted – 3 minutes run, 1 minute walk.

Yorkshire Season Ticket.jpg

After the York 10K we had a little bit of a break until the Great Yorkshire Run at the end of September.  I had actually started a post about this and then never finished it so I’ll copy and paste what I wrote about that one here:

This year’s Great Yorkshire Run was much better than last year’s, not least because although we were in the Green Wave and due to start at 10:14am I decided that it was more important to go to the toilet right at the last minute so we started from the back 🙂  I also entered the run earlier than last year so that we could stay overnight in Sheffield – a much better option than getting the train on a Sunday morning.  I also paid for a late check-out so that we could go back to the hotel for a shower afterwards before getting the train home.

So, what about the run itself?  Well, the start is all downhill and we completed the first km in 6:49.  I didn’t want to go out too fast and then find that my legs wanted to give up after 2.5km as they have been doing at parkrun and during training.  After the downhill, it is then flat along the A61 to Hillsborough Stadium (Sheffield Wednesday), where we turned around to come back.  The hills came back at 8km although they were quite short and you then went down again until about
9.5km when it is all uphill to the finish.  Well, it might as well be, I think it flattens out about 30m before the finish line but there was no way I could get my legs to go any faster to the finish.  Adam made me laugh though, he asked where the big hill was (we wereGreat Yorkshire Run Collage on it) and as there was a sign over the other side of the road saying “What Hill?”, I pointed it out and said “That sign says ‘What Hill?'” so he
asked me again when we were nearly at the top.  I told him that we’d just been up it.  Oh, to be like Adam and not realise that the hill we’ve just pushed up was the “big” hill to the finish, lol.

We finished in 1:08:17.  I’ll take that 😀

That’s it for the 10K runs.  We also took part in 2 other events but as this is a long post already, I’ll save those for another day.

Author: fisefton

Mum, Wife, Runner, Administrator, Bookkeeper, Tupperware Lady, Chief Bottle Washer, General Dogsbody...

One thought on “Running in 2015

  1. Pingback: Running in 2015: Part 2 | Fi's Mutterings