Fi's Mutterings

Disney, running, swimming, living with disability, challenges…

I Found My Why

When you start out in a network marketing business, or as a self-employed or even employed person, you are asked to set goals.  What do you want to achieve in 3, 6 or 12 months time?  Where do you want to be in 3 or 5 years?

I’ve always found it hard to set goals and know where I want to be or what I want.  I’ve always been satisfied with what I have and have budgeted and saved for the extras.  For that reason, when I was asked to set my goals in my first planning meeting, I was stumped and, as my son is my reason for most things, said that I want to make sure that my son is going to be OK and looked after.  However, that isn’t my real “Why”.  It may become a more realistic, real why in the future but it isn’t the true one at the moment.

When you feel like quitting

Yesterday, my upline manager came to see me with my friend and sponsor.  She knew that I had joined initially because I wanted to save money on the products.  I’ve used them for over 4 years and love the ones that I have used and can recoup the money I spent on my kit within a year on the amount I save being able to buy them wholesale.  What she wanted to know was why I had shifted from being a personal use distributor to someone who wants to do this business.

What do I need from this business?  I need enough money to cover my husband’s salary if he stops working the rotational job he is currently doing away from home.

Before I get into the “Why?”, let me give you a bit of background.  My husband has been working ad hoc within the oil and gas industry since 2008 and has been on the same site on a rotational basis since 2012.  This means that every 4 weeks, I am a single mum.  I know that there are a lot of single parents out there and I take my hat off to them.  I don’t know how they do it. But, and this is a big but, most of the time they didn’t choose to be single parents.  Most of them are single parents because the relationship with their partner broke down.  In my case, I’m a single parent every other month by choice, sort of.  My husband works rotations because that is his job and he goes with my blessing.  However, we did choose for him to go and we choose for him to continue, for now.

So back to the question, and the answer: What do I need? Enough money to cover my husband’s salary.

Why? So he can come home and we can choose for him to stay and set up the business which he wants to do.

Why do I want/need him to come home?  Because I don’t want to be a single mum.  Because I don’t want to be the sole carer for Adam.  Because I have a choice about this.  Because I miss my husband, even though we shout and argue most of the time he is home because we don’t have time to get back into a routine which includes him and he disrupts the routine Adam and I have established while he is away.  I need to get back to a routine where my husband takes a share of the responsibility and I don’t feel guilty about working my business.  I don’t want to cram 2 months of living and loving into 3 to 4 weeks.

TDon't wish it was easy - Jim Rohnhey say you need to have an emotional attachment to your why because it is the emotion that gives you the drive.  This is my emotional why.

I have other dreams too – Disney is always going to be the biggie in our household – but the emotional connection is what is going to get me out there talking to people about the business opportunity and the products.

Author: fisefton

Mum, Wife, Administrator, Forever Business Owner, Bookkeeper, Tupperware Lady, Chief Bottle Washer, General Dogsbody...

Comments are closed.