Fi's Mutterings

Disney, running, swimming, living with disability, challenges…

I Need to Plan

I signed up to Janathon and Jantastic to try to get myself back into a good routine for exercise but haven’t had time to put together my plan properly yet.  I’ll be honest, I have been lazy.  I’ve had time to put together a plan and I have a kind of plan in my head but some things may conspire against me.

My initial plan was to go swimming on Mondays, do a gym session (Personal Trainer) on Tuesdays, walk to work Wednesday, run on Thursdays and Saturday (parkrun), walk to Tesco on Sunday and wing it on Fridays.  However, I know from past experience that getting to the swimming pool on Mondays doesn’t always happen and more often than not I end up walking rather than running on Thursdays.  So, I am going to be flexible-ish.  The Monday swim may become a run or a gym session.  If the Monday swim is a gym session then the Tuesday will be a run or swim.  If I run on Tuesday then Thursday will become a swim.  I have to get back in the pool at least once a week as I plan to enter the Swimathon when the entries open next week.

Unfortunately, Fridays are going to be a case of winging it as I take Adam to his work-based training before going on to work myself.  I then pick him up as soon as I have finished so don’t have any time on my own to exercise.  I can, however, do some yoga or body weight exercises at home when we finish for the day.  I will do something, I promise.

So, that’s kind of the plan for Janathon.  Jantastic should be easier but it probably won’t be because it is based on running, cycling or swimming at least twice a week although I’ve pledged to run twice and swim once.  Hence the plan above re swimming/running.  January is all about committing to regular exercise for 30 minutes or more.

Yesterday I started Janathon with a parkrun and today I continued with a walk in to town with Adam.  2 days down, 29 to go!  Jantastic doesn’t actually start until Monday so if you want to do that you still have time to sign up.

I also need to sit down and plan my run and swim training.  There’s no point saying that I’m going to do it if I don’t actually know what I’m going to do during my sessions.  I do have a goal for the swimming (5k swim in April) and for the running – Adam and I have entered the 3 Yorkshire Run for All events this year (June in Hull, July in Leeds and August in York) so I need to put in the extra run each week for that otherwise I won’t be able to keep up with Adam.

Finally, I need to do a plan for my business(es).  I work for a charity 3 days a week but I also have my own bookkeeping business which I am happy ticking along with as it is and I also started two new businesses last year.  The one I really want to concentrate on this year is Younique.  I joined with the thought that if it works great but if it doesn’t well I have some lovely make-up from the starter kit plus any which I buy (and earn the commission back on) out of a relatively small investment.  I have to say, I’m hooked and really want to give it a go to see if I can build a small team and actually earn a decent living from it.  I’m going to write a more detailed post about my experience with Younique so far later – that is another thing I need to plan: blog writing!

Author: fisefton

Mum, Wife, Runner, Administrator, Bookkeeper, Tupperware Lady, Chief Bottle Washer, General Dogsbody...

Comments are closed.