Fi's Mutterings

Disney, running, swimming, living with disability, challenges…

Adam’s First 10K

4 Comments

It’s that time of year again, the Run for All team rolled in to York for the last 10K of their calendar for 2014.  I have taken part in every one of them since they started in 2009 and this year my son, Adam, decided that he would like to run it with me.

Adam has only been running since last August/September when he started doing parkrun with me.  Earlier this year we took part in the Royal Family 5K at Disney World and he completed the R U Taking the P? 5K in June.  His best time for the parkrun is 32:21 but he has been consistently finishing at around 33 minutes so I thought he’d easily do about 1:10:00 as we always run intervals rather than the whole 5K.  My PB for 10K is 1:09:50 which I set at the Great Yorkshire Run last September and I have gone under 31 minutes for a 5K but that was hard work so I don’t think I’d be able to finish a 10K much faster than my PB if I ran it on my own.

Anyway, we went with a friend of mine to the racecourse for the start of the York 10K this morning with a goal of running 4:1 minute intervals and aiming to finish anywhere between 1:10:00 and 1:15:00.  The queue for the toilet, as usual, was really long and we were still standing waiting for a toilet to come free when they started the run.  That was fine, it takes about 20 minutes for all of the runners to cross the start line anyway so we knew we had time to get there before they told us it was too late.  As it happened, we joined the masses with plenty of time to spare and crossed the start line with lots of people behind us at 13 minutes after the gun.

This year my friend, who I ran with last year, hasn’t done any training and was carrying a back injury so she was aiming for a much slower time of 1:30:00 but she wanted to start with us and see how far she could get.  We started out relatively slow, for us, and completed the first km in 7:20 with the 2nd km taking 7:30.  After we left my friend, Adam picked up the pace considerably with the next 3 km being completed in just over 21 minutes.  The km splits for 6 and 7 got even faster with the fasted split of 6:23 coming at the 7 km mark.  Adam decided he wanted more of a walking break in the 8th km and consequently the time went down a bit.  It also didn’t help that the course had an “out and back” part to it, you know where you run up a road and then have to turn round and run back down it while other runners are going the other way.  As we could only run on half of the road, it was harder to get round slower runners/walkers so I am blaming that for the slower split too.  Adam came home strong though with a final split of 6:26 😀

Split
Time
Distance
Avg Pace
Summary 1:08:39.1 9.97 6:53
1 7:19.5 1.00 7:20
2 7:29.8 1.00 7:30
3 7:04.3 1.00 7:04
4 7:01.3 1.00 7:01
5 7:00.6 1.00 7:01
6 6:41.4 1.00 6:41
7 6:23.5 1.00 6:23
8 6:51.0 1.00 6:51
9 6:33.8 1.00 6:34
10 6:13.9 0.97 6:26

The official time from Run for All was 1:08:34.  I have a PB 😀

I am so proud of my boy.  I wish I could persuade him to run longer splits because he has the potential to go so much faster and run away from me one day.  The splits from 2 km were his pace, not mine, and when he gets the confidence to keep running rather than rely on the interval timings I won’t be able to keep up.  His pace is so much quicker than mine but, at the moment, I have the endurance which is why my 5K PB is faster than his.  I would also like to point out that Adam only runs/trains at York parkrun so the furthest he has ever run before today was 5 km and he only ran once in July due to parkrun being cancelled for the Tour de France and horse racing.

Adam is now asking if we can do the Great Yorkshire Run in Sheffield in September.  Well, I was going to run it anyway, so sure.  He is also looking up the dates for the Yorkshire based Run for All 10Ks for next year with a view to taking part in Hull, Leeds and York 10Ks in 2015.  Well, we need a challenge and if it will keep him going to parkrun, I’m all for it.

York 10K collage

 

Author: fisefton

Mum, Wife, Runner, Administrator, Bookkeeper, Tupperware Lady, Chief Bottle Washer, General Dogsbody...