Fi's Mutterings

Disney, running, swimming, living with disability, challenges…

Lemon Meringue

I want to say “Lemon Meringue” Pie but it isn’t a pie because it doesn’t have a pastry bottom.  Blame WeightWatchers, it was their idea to use WeightWatchers Oat Digestive biscuits instead of pastry for a strawberry meringue pie.  I just decided to use my – hmm whose was it? – aunt’s or grandma’s lemon meringue pie recipe but on a biscuit base.  You know, like a cheesecake base.  I love cheesecake but by far the best part for me is the digestive biscuit base.  So, that’s what I’ve been doing today – baking/cooking.  We also have too many carrots so I made carrot, orange and ginger soup for the Boy to take in his packed lunch this week.

Anyway, the lemon meringue pie, I thought I’d share it with you.  I even took pictures đŸ™‚


Lemon Meringue Pie (with biscuit base)

Ingredients
12 digestive biscuits, crushed
50g margarine, melted
3 lemons, juice & rind
125g granulated sugar
250ml water
2 heaped tbsp cornflour
3 eggs, separated whites and yolks
75g caster sugar

Method

Pre-heat the oven to 180C.

Mix the crushed biscuits and melted margarine together and press into the base of a 15cm loose-bottomed tin.
Put in the oven and bake for 15 minutes.

biscuit base

biscuit base

Put lemon juice, lemon rind, sugar, water and cornflour in a pan and boil until thick, stirring all the time. I think it should resemble vasaline when it’s done.

lemon "vaseline"

lemon “vaseline”

Leave the mixture to cool before adding 3 egg yolks.
Tip on top of the biscuit base (or into a pastry case for a traditional lemon meringue pie)

Whisk 3 egg whites until very stiff.
Add the caster sugar and whisk until like cotton wool. If you wish you can fold in up to 75g more caster sugar, I tend not to.
Put on top of the pie and sprinkle with caster sugar.

Bake for 1 hour at 140C or until golden. Leave to cool.

#gallery-2099-1 { margin: auto; } #gallery-2099-1 .gallery-item { float: left; margin-top: 10px; text-align: center; width: 33%; } #gallery-2099-1 img { border: 2px solid #cfcfcf; } #gallery-2099-1 .gallery-caption { margin-left: 0; } /* see gallery_shortcode() in wp-includes/media.php */


I’ve tried it and I have to say, it tastes amazing. Loving the crunchy biscuit base instead of soggy pastry which I usually get.

Now I really must save the instructions for embedding recipes into my blog posts because I keep on having to search for it!  I even managed to put pictures in this one so I hope they come out OK.

Author: fisefton

Mum, Wife, Runner, Administrator, Bookkeeper, Tupperware Lady, Chief Bottle Washer, General Dogsbody...

Comments are closed.