Fi's Mutterings

Disney, running, swimming, living with disability, challenges…

Journal Jar No 4: Hide-Out

I thought I’d better do another Journal Jar entry as I’ve only done 3 so far and it was going to be a fairly regular thing, or so I thought.  Then again, since when does anything I plan for my blog ever come off the way I thought it would?  Anyway, the prompt I pulled out of my Journal Jar is:

Did you have a childhood hide-out?  Where?  Describe it.

Oh, I so wish I had a photo of this!

When I was a child, between the ages of 7 and 10, we lived in Malawi and would go to the Golf Club, where my parents would play bowls, every weekend.  It was great, I loved it.  My sister and I, and our best friends (also sisters), would be allowed to roam around the Club and go swimming or over the edges of the golf course.  Don’t worry, we were all good swimmers so being allowed to go swimming alone wasn’t an issue.

Anyway, to the point of this prompt and the reason I wish I had a photo.  At the Club there was a huge tree, well it seemed huge at the time I’m not sure it really was, which we used to climb.  We would climb for, what seemed like, hours and just sit and chat in the branches.  It was so big that we split it into rooms and called it the Holiday Inn tree, I don’t know why, we just did.  If we wanted to get away from everything, that’s where we went.  If our parents needed to find us, that was where they looked first.  If we wanted to hide, this was where we would go because if you could get high enough there were enough branches and leaves to cover you.  Like I said, I wish I had a photo but this was the days way before digital cameras and I didn’t get my first camera until I was 8 and definitely wouldn’t have been allowed to take it to the Club, it might get broken.

Author: fisefton

Mum, Wife, Runner, Administrator, Bookkeeper, Tupperware Lady, Chief Bottle Washer, General Dogsbody...

Comments are closed.