Fi's Mutterings

Disney, running, swimming, living with disability, challenges…

Lord Plum Cake

4 Comments

Last year I was talking to my sister-in-law about baking, the Be-Ro book and handed down recipes. My sister-in-law happened to mention that she had found a recipe for Lord Plum Cake in one of her Mum’s recipe books which was written in 1896 by her great-great-grandmother. I asked her if she could let me have a copy of it so I could try it.

My sister-in-law sent me the recipe just before Christmas and I tried it. It didn’t come out great, I think it was due to not having a big enough tin! As well as not knowing what temperature to use or how long to cook it for. Anyway, unperturbed, I tried again last week using half quantities. After a little bit of research, I think that the Lord Plum Cake is what is also known as a Pound Cake.

Lord Plum Cake recipe with my notes

Lord Plum Cake recipe with my notes

The cake is very rich and moist.

Lord Plum Cake mixture

Lord Plum Cake mixture

Lord Plum Cake

Lord Plum Cake

Lord Plum Cake

Lord Plum Cake

Lord Plum Cake

Ingredients:
1 lb (16 oz) castor sugar
2/4 lb (12 oz) butter
1 lb (16 oz) plain flour
4 tsp baking powder
8 eggs
1/2 lb (8 oz) sultanas
2 oz candied peel
1 lb (16 oz) currants

Directions:

  • Pre-heat an oven to 125C and grease an 8″ tin
  • Cream the butter and sugar together
  • Add the flour and baking powder alternately with the eggs and mix
  • Add the sultanas, candied peel and currants and mix
  • Put the mixture in the cake tin and bake for approx 1 hour 30 minutes

The recipe says a “moderate” oven but the recipe for a half pound cake I found in my Good Housekeeping Cookbook says 150C. As I have a fan oven, I reduced that to 125C and baked the cake for 1 hour 30 minutes. If you try this you’ll need to find out what works for your oven.

Author: fisefton

Mum, Wife, Administrator, Forever Business Owner, Bookkeeper, Tupperware Lady, Chief Bottle Washer, General Dogsbody...

4 thoughts on “Lord Plum Cake

  1. I am always pleased to discover new cake recipes 😀