Fi's Mutterings

Disney, running, swimming, living with disability, challenges…

Can it be done?

2 Comments

Marge Piercy said: “A strong woman is a woman determined to do something others are determined not be done.” Tell us about a time when you did what couldn’t be done.

I’m not sure I’ve ever done anything which anyone has said couldn’t be done but I have done things which others may not have attempted.  One example of this was returning to education 14 years after leaving school (I failed my A Levels so couldn’t go to uni and get my degree back then) and somehow managing my time effectively enough to fit in lectures, assignments, part-time work and being a full-time mum.  I got my HND in Sport and Exercise Science (Therapy) and became a qualified Sports Massage Therapist.  I achieved at least a merit grade on every module and even got distinction on 3 out of the 12 modules.  This was despite missing almost every lecture for anatomy and physiology due to the lecture being at 4 pm to 6 pm and having to be at home for my son.  During my second year, I think I missed lectures every other week due to my son’s migraines and was very scared that I wouldn’t pass the course due to not being able to make deadlines.  Fortunately, I had a very understanding tutor who extended the deadlines for me.

After getting my HND, I decided to go to university to top it up to a degree.  I graduated in June 2007, and promptly went back to administration!

Author: fisefton

Mum, Wife, Runner, Administrator, Bookkeeper, Tupperware Lady, Chief Bottle Washer, General Dogsbody...

2 thoughts on “Can it be done?

  1. Oooh I’ve never heard of NaNoBloPoMo! Very interesting! Just dropping by to let you know i’ve nominated you for The Liebster Award! http://lmbuck.com/2014/01/15/and-the-award-goes-to/