Fi's Mutterings

Disney, running, swimming, living with disability, challenges…

Baking and Cooking Day

I have a very busy week coming up. My parents are coming to visit tomorrow and Tuesday, the charity I work for is having a sale at St Crux (church hall in York at the bottom of the Shambles), which I will be helping out at but we also need cakes to sell, I am in London for a conference on Thursday (travelling down Wednesday evening), then I am back at work on Friday and Saturday. Oh, I have a meeting at school tomorrow too.

So, with all that going on this week, when was I supposed to fit in cake baking? The answer, today! I have a new oven. It’s a fan oven. I’ve never baked in a fan oven before, well I did on Friday just as a test but apart from that, never. Anyway, I have my temperature guide for fan ovens and am reducing the times by a third and then checking every so often. So far, the times aren’t reducing as much as I thought they would.

I made lemon muffins this morning.

20131110-165237.jpg

I am also making teabread. It’s my grandmother’s recipe and you have to leave the fruit and sugar to soak in the tea for at least 4 hours so I did that this morning too.

20131110-165439.jpg

While I was waiting for the fruit to soak, I made some carrot, orange and ginger soup.

Finally, it was time to finish the teabread mixture by adding self raising flour and an egg before putting in the oven.

20131110-165455.jpg

I’m still waiting for it to cook as it is taking longer than I expected and longer than my old gas oven. I think I will try a slightly higher temperature next time.

Author: fisefton

Mum, Wife, Runner, Administrator, Bookkeeper, Tupperware Lady, Chief Bottle Washer, General Dogsbody...

Comments are closed.