Fi's Mutterings

Disney, running, swimming, living with disability, challenges…

London: Day 2

Monday dawned lovely and sunny and, after a filling English breakfast, we headed off down Euston Road towards Regent’s Park and London Zoo.  It’s not far, just over 2 miles (about the same as us walking in to town from home which we do on a regular basis).  DSCF0920We got to London Zoo at about 10.30 am and went straight to a ticket booth, after being waylaid to have our photo taken (they try to sell it to you at the exit with a range of backgrounds).  After my success at the London Transport Museum, I asked if they offered concessions for disabilities, they do but carers have to pay for themselves, that’s OK I expect to pay my way.  I paid using Tesco Days Out vouchers which I’d ordered using my Clubcard points so only had to pay about £5 instead of £45, bonus.

As soon as we got through the entrance, my husband went straight to the reptile house to see the snakes, we lost him for about 2 hours!  My son and I went round the aquarium and then in to the reptile house to find that my husband wasn’t finished yet, not a surprise.  My son and I went to look at the programme of events to plan the rest of the day while my husband finished in the reptile house.  Plan for the day:

12 pm – Tiger Talk
12.30 pm – Animals in Action
1.30 pm – Penguins Live
2.30 pm – Deadly Birds
4 pm – Giraffe’s High Tea

The Tiger Talk and Giraffe’s High Tea weren’t all that interesting but Animals in Action was funny and informative.  I love penguins so Penguins Live was going to be good, even if it wasn’t and the birds on show for Deadly Birds were amazing, gorgeous and all but one were from the UK.  The presenters were good too.  One of the handlers/keepers for the Deadly Birds show stayed out for a good 15 minutes, maybe more, at the end of the show to answer questions.

Somehow we managed to fit in lions, otters, gorillas, monkeys, meerkats, birds, prairie dogs, ant-eaters and so much more in between the talks too.  DSCF0895We also saw the old Penguin Pool which is, unfortunately, just a water feature now as it is a Grade One listed building so they can’t knock it down.  I’m glad they can’t knock it down as it was built in 1934 and looks amazing.  Unfortunately, it isn’t very penguin, or other animal, friendly.  They can’t knock down the old Elephant House either.  If you are interested you can find out more on the London Zoo website’s article about Architecture at the Zoo.  While I was looking up the information, I found a link to the London Zoo Stampede, a 10 km run so got a bit distracted looking at that too.  Wouldn’t it be amazing to start and finish a run at London Zoo and go round Regent’s Park for the rest of it?  Maybe I’ll have to remember it for next year.

My son had a great time and wants to go back on our next visit to London.  I had to tell him that there are other things to see in London too.

We stayed until nearly 6 pm, I’m not sure how late it was but we heard the announcement that the zoo was closing in 20 minutes so it was at least 5.40 pm.  At which point, my feet and back were hurting and we had to find somewhere to eat before walking back to the hotel.  Fortunately, I’d looked up the Baker Street area on the laptop the previous evening and knew that if we couldn’t find anything else, there was a KFC near Baker Street station.  As it happened, we couldn’t be bothered to try to find anything else by the time we’d walked round Regent’s Park so it was KFC followed by a walk back to the hotel for another early night.  Day 3?  Buckingham Palace and the Royal Mews 😀

Author: fisefton

Mum, Wife, Runner, Administrator, Bookkeeper, Tupperware Lady, Chief Bottle Washer, General Dogsbody...

Comments are closed.