Fi's Mutterings

Disney, running, swimming, living with disability, challenges…

The Fast Diet

1 Comment

So, I’ve been struggling with the “last 10 pounds” for what feels like forever but every time I think about doing something about it – joining Weight Watchers, logging my nutrition on Spark People (a free diet website) etc – I give up within less than a week.  The reason?  I’m lazy.  I don’t want to spend 15 minutes a day on the computer logging what I’ve eaten.  I don’t want to think about it too much either.  After all, if I’m following a “diet” plan I have to reduce my calorie intake every day.  I get bored with that.  Some days I don’t feel like eating much whereas other days I just want to stuff my face – time of the month ladies?

Last year there was a Horizon documentary on BBC during the Olympics.  Unfortunately, I missed it but out of it came the Fast Diet book which states that if you reduce your calories 2 days a week and eat what you want for the other 5 then you will not only lose weight but get a number of other health benefits too.  The research for Intermittent Fasting, as it is called, is still in its infancy but so far it looks promising.  I found a copy of the documentary online 🙂 so I’ve now watched it.  You can find it by clicking on the link below.

Eat, Fast & Live Longer HD by limoslight

I haven’t finished reading the book but the only section I have left is the recipes and calorie counter so I have decided that I’m going to give the Fast Diet a go.  However, rather than fasting for a full day, e.g. Monday, I’m going to fast for a 24 hour period from dinner on one day to dinner on the next.  I’m not sure how or if this is going to work but, certainly initially, I think it may work better in my family setting.  So, I am going to make an early-ish dinner this evening at around 5.30 pm and then start my 24 hour fasting period after that, probably around 6 pm.  I will then finish at around 6 pm tomorrow when I will be able to have dinner with my family once again.  I will then have my 500 calories (the allowance for a woman on a Fast Day) for breakfast and lunch.  Like I say, I’m not sure it will work as well as having a day as we know it but I assume that it doesn’t matter how you work the day as long as it is a 24 hour period with a reduced calorie intake.

The reason I am choosing to go from dinner to dinner is because we sit down for dinner every evening as a family.  I don’t want to start cooking different meals for myself and the rest of my family.  I also think that I will find it easier to go without my usual evening snacks on Tuesdays and Thursdays but easier during the day when I am at work on Wednesdays and Fridays.  Anyway, we shall see and I’ll let you know how I get on.

Author: fisefton

Mum, Wife, Runner, Administrator, Bookkeeper, Tupperware Lady, Chief Bottle Washer, General Dogsbody...