Fi's Mutterings

Disney, running, swimming, living with disability, challenges…

Next Up: Race for Life

Now that the Swimathon is over for another year and I finished with such a huge PB, I have the motivation to try to smash a few other PBs this year too.  For the past couple of years, my running seems to have got slower at the Race for Life and Run for All events.  I know why, it’s because I didn’t train as much as I should because I don’t like running outside at the best of times and when it’s raining I will find any excuse not to go.  Thanks to the weather last year, I didn’t train for the 10k run and ended up finishing in my worst time yet.  Thanks to my husband, that is not going to happen this year.

Last September, my husband decided that he wanted to join a gym again.  So we did.  The weather cannot be an excuse not to train this year as I can still run inside on the treadmill.  I know most people don’t like running on a treadmill, especially once they have run outside, but I’m not one of those people.  I like being able to set the speed I’d like to achieve so that I, either, don’t slack off or don’t go off too fast.

I started my Race for Life 5k training a couple of weeks ago but only completed week 1 last week as I was spending most of my time in the pool preparing for the Swimathon.  I am using the 5k running training plan from the Race for Life’s website.

Today, I started week 2.  Not a bad session for me on the treadmill in the gym.  I set the treadmill to 6km/hr for walking and 9km/hr for running and completed 1 min walk; 2 min run x8 and finished with a 5 minute cool down.  I covered 3.75km in 29 minutes.  I have to do this again on my next training session and then do a 20 minute walk for my 3rd session of the week.  As I am planning on walking to work on Wednesday, 5km each way, I may just use that as my walk and then do the other interval training session on Thursday when I am due in the gym anyway.

Author: fisefton

Mum, Wife, Runner, Administrator, Bookkeeper, Tupperware Lady, Chief Bottle Washer, General Dogsbody...

Comments are closed.