Fi's Mutterings

Disney, running, swimming, living with disability, challenges…

Be aware. Think before you drink.

I’m writing and publishing tomorrows daily prompt early because I came on WordPress and read the next prompt early.  Usually I wait until I get the prompt in my daily email or, if I see it early, write it and schedule the publish for some time the following day.  As the prompt asked

Write about anything you’d like, but make sure the post includes this sentence:

“I thought we’d never come back from that one.”

and I had written a blog for my Driving for Girls blog (I don’t write on it as much as I should) and thought it would suit the challenge I copied it to here.  I am publishing it today instead of tomorrow though as it is about driving the morning after excessive drinking, the kind which many will be indulging in this evening and I wanted my readers to have the chance to read this before tomorrow.

As 2012 draws to a close, please think about how much you are drinking if you are planning on driving tomorrow.  Yes, I said tomorrow.  Everyone, well most people, know that you shouldn’t drive home when you have been drinking but how many of us think about whether or not we should be driving the following day?

Personally, I don’t drink alcohol so I don’t need to think about it but I won’t let my husband drive the following day if we’ve been to an event where the alcohol has been flowing and we have left after midnight.  I should point out that he doesn’t try to drive the following day either.  If he knows he needs to drive the following day he’ll limit his alcohol consumption to one or two pints before around 10pm and then switch to soft drinks.

Direct.gov have some interesting facts and figures about drink driving:

  • 15% of road fatalities in 2010 were caused by drink driving
  • A drink drive conviction can result in job loss, strain on personal relationships and higher insurance costs
  • Tolerance to alcohol depends on a combination of factors: weight, age, gender, stress and recent food consumption
  • The best way to remain safe is not to drink and drive

Drinkaware.co.uk also has some information about drink driving as well as information about driving the morning after.

The amount of alcohol in your system depends on a lot of things including how many units of alcohol is in the drinks you are drinking, your gender, metabolism, how much you have eaten…  You cannot speed up the removal of alcohol in your body by drinking coffee or eating.  You may feel better but the alcohol will still be there.

So, please think about driving after drinking heavily so that you don’t have to say “I thought we’d never come back from that one” if anything were to happen.

These could be your only options if you choose to drink and drive via surferjerry.com
Author: fisefton

Mum, Wife, Runner, Administrator, Bookkeeper, Tupperware Lady, Chief Bottle Washer, General Dogsbody...

Comments are closed.