Fi's Mutterings

Disney, running, swimming, living with disability, challenges…

Daily Post Catch Up

I haven’t had much time in the past week to write any blogs and didn’t have any completed ones in my drafts so, here I am with a little bit of time, playing catch up.

Topic #175:  Why do some people’s dreams get realized, and others don’t? Make a list of the factors you think are involved, including the ones people do and don’t have control over.

Some people’s dreams are things they would like to do if something else happens eg my step-daughter would like to buy a castle but she needs to win the lottery first.  That is a dream which relies on something she can’t control.  However, other dreams rely on the dreamer actually putting in time and effort to realise the dream.  Those that achieve them  are those who put in the work and make the sacrifices to get where they want to be.

Topic #176:  Find the nearest window. Look outside. What is the most interesting thing you see? What is the least interesting thing? If you don’t have a window, close your eyes and imagine one: what do you see when you look through it?

As I am sitting at my desk and half the window is covered by the shelving from the desk and the other half of the window is blocked by boxes, it is very hard to see anything except a tree out of the window.  Oh, and the rain splashing against it!

Topic #177: What does freedom mean? People talk about freedom all the time, but what does it mean in real life? Is a person who has a job truly free? What about the responsibilities of having a family or a friend? It’s one thing to be free to make a choice, but after a choice is made, are we truly free anymore?

Freedom?  The definition of freedom at dictionary.com is:

1.  the state of being free  or at liberty rather than in confinement or under physical restraint: He won his freedom after a retrial.
2.  exemption from external control, interference, regulation, etc.
3.  the power to determine action without restraint.

My brain is too fried to try to work out whether or not I am free because I have a job.  I enjoy my job and don’t feel tied down by it.  I guess I’m still free then.

Topic #178:  If you started your own nation, what rules would be in your constitution? What country would you model your rules after?
Bonus: Whether you like the USA or not, two documents, the Deceleration of Independence and the Constitution, are landmark references in the creation of government. They’re also good reads for anyone trying to start an organization of any kind.  Also see, Magna Carta.

Start my own country?  Do I want to?  Do I really want people to pick me to pieces because I appear to be breaking my promises?  I don’t think so!  There would be too much to think about… first would it be a democracy or a dictatorship? 😎  Nope, not even going to go there.

Topic #179:  If you could own one thing you don’t currently have, what would it be?

Nothing.  I have my health, my family, a roof over my head, a job (finally) and food on the table.  What else could I possibly need?

Topic #180:  Are you too lazy or too busy?
Bonus: Why is it so hard to find a balance? Do you know anyone who has a better balance than you do? What do you think their secret is?

A bit of both depending on the week.  I think I usually have the right balance although it can be tough when I have different people pulling me in different directions – have to go to work to get one job done, have to finish work for 2 clients, would like to go to son’s school for sports day, would like to get in some exercise, have to make dinner for the family.  Some days I think I may explode and other days I don’t have much to do so don’t do any of it and have a lazy day.

Topic #181:  How do you know where your boundaries are?
We all have limits for what we are willing to try, or do, but how do you know that you haven’t gone far enough? Or when you go too far?

Some boundaries are enforced on us so I know where those are.  I am willing to try *almost* anything once.  However, I will not attempt a bungee jump, *ever* but I would do a parachute jump.  Sometimes my head will tell me that I absolutely can’t do something so I won’t even try it but if I have someone encouraging me to try something then I may give it a go.

Author: fisefton

Mum, Wife, Runner, Administrator, Bookkeeper, Tupperware Lady, Chief Bottle Washer, General Dogsbody...

Comments are closed.