Fi's Mutterings

Disney, running, swimming, living with disability, challenges…

Race for Life – training

I am running the 5k Race for Life on Sunday 19 June 2011 which is 6 weeks (yesterday) as a warm up to my 10k run (Run for All) on Sunday 31 July 2011 (12 weeks yesterday). As mentioned in a previous blog, I am using the Race for Life’s 5k jogging training plan to train for the 5k. As it is a 6 week training plan, with a week that goes from Monday to Sunday, today is DAY 1.

I went to the gym this morning to do the training run on the treadmill. Today’s session was a 30 minute interval session (3 min walk:3 min jog, repeat 5 times). The distance goal was 3.1k. I set my walk:run speeds as 6k/hr:9k/hr and off I went. I can’t say that it was easy as I haven’t done much running training in recent months, due to the Swimathon training, but it wasn’t as hard as I thought it was going to be either 🙂 Including my cooldown (5 minutes) I covered 4.27km in 35 minutes which is a fair bit further than the 3.1k I was supposed to be aiming for.

The next session is a 20 minute walk/run (2.1k) – 10 minute walk then 10 min jog. I’m not sure I can keep the 9k/hr pace going for 10 minutes but we’ll see. Maybe I’ll reduce it down to 8 or 8.5.

Author: fisefton

Mum, Wife, Administrator, Forever Business Owner, Bookkeeper, Tupperware Lady, Chief Bottle Washer, General Dogsbody...

Comments are closed.