Fi's Mutterings

Disney, running, swimming, living with disability, challenges…

Here We Go Again

I’ve tried this before and I am going to try again. I say that I am going to blog more about my healthy living journey and then I forget or can’t think about what to write. I used to write on my blog on SparkPeople about anything health and weight loss related but I’m going to transfer it to this blog as I can write blogs on my iPhone for WordPress.

So, here we go again with more training for an event. I have already done the Swimathon 🙂 and am now starting the training for the Race for Life. I will be taking part in the 5km run on Sunday 19 June 2011 and hope to beat my previous time of 37 minutes. In fact, I hope to break the 35 minute mark. I haven’t participated in the Race for Life since 2006, I think, as they keep holding the one near me on a Sunday afternoon and I work Sundays! I have booked the day off as holiday this year so that I can take part. I have run 5km since my last Race for Life event though. In fact, SparkPeople are encouraging its members to take part in Virtual Races. I took part in one during the week after I did the Swimathon and clocked a time of 38 minutes. I was quite pleased with this time as I hadn’t done any run training for a while as most of my cardio training had been done in the pool. I also ran the 5k on the treadmill and used it as a training session to gauge my running fitness. On that run I did a pyramid, starting at 6k/hr and increasing my speed by 0.5k/hr every 500m up to 9k/hr and then reducing it back down again.

I am starting the Race for Life’s 6 week training plan on Monday 9 May but have been doing a Couch to 5k training plan in the meantime. Last week I did week 2 (1 min 30 sec run, 2 min walk) and completed 4.35km in 35 minutes including the warm up and cool down. This morning I did week 3 (1 min 30 sec run, 1 min 30 sec walk, 3 min run, 3 min walk – repeated 3 times followed by a 4 minute jog at 8km/hr) and completed 4.37km in 35 minutes. My walk speed was 6k/hr and my run speed was 10k/hr. I don’t intend to be able to run at 10k/hr for the whole 5k but am using it for my intervals on the treadmill. Next week I am going to complete the other 2 days of week 3 and then start on the Race for Life 6 week training plan the week after.

My husband is also doing a 5km run on 19 June. Not the Race for Life as that is for women only but a run called R U Taking the P..2? which is an event organised by York Knavesmire Harriers for men only. It is an event to raise the awareness of prostate and male cancer and proceeds go to Yorkshire Cancer Research. My husband has never run a 5k. In fact, he doesn’t run at all. So, he is starting from scratch and, as he found it hard to do the standard 1 min run, 1 min walk, we have started him off at 30 sec run, 1 minute 30 sec walk. His run speed is 7.5k/hr and his walk speed is 5.5k/hr. Today, he felt so good at the end of 10 intervals that he ran for 2 minutes on the 10th! He completed 3k in 30 minutes which I think was great, considering 10 minutes of it was for warm up and cool down.

Due to another long weekend with my boy being off school for the Royal Wedding, May Day Bank Holiday and a teacher training day, I will not be back in the gym until Wednesday or Thursday next week.

Author: fisefton

Mum, Wife, Runner, Administrator, Bookkeeper, Tupperware Lady, Chief Bottle Washer, General Dogsbody...

Comments are closed.