Fi's Mutterings

Disney, running, swimming, living with disability, challenges…

Celebrity Meetings

Post a Day Topic #110: Describe your first encounter with a celebrity

I know that the topic says your first encounter with a celebrity but I’m going to let you know about two. The first was with Naoko Mori (Toshiko Sato in Torchwood and Sarah in Absolutely Fabulous) who I went to school with from the age of 11 to 17 when she left to pursue her dream of becoming an actress/singer. She had an amazing voice even then.

The second was a chat with Bobby Robson in 1999 at Antigua airport. I was traveling with my son to visit my parents in the Caribbean and had to change planes at Antigua. Whilst we were waiting in the lounge for our plane, Bobby Robson (and a few others) came and sat next to us. I got chatting to someone who was with Bobby and then Bobby started talking to me too. I was using Makaton to communicate with my son and he asked me about it. I found him to be really friendly and genuinely interested in what Makaton is and why my son and I use it. I would never have spoken to him if he hadn’t spoken to me first as I believe that “celebrities” have as much right to their own space as the rest of us (and I’m not a football fan). When he left, someone came up to me and asked if I knew who that was as I hadn’t asked for an autograph. I said that I did but didn’t feel the need to get an autograph.

Author: fisefton

Mum, Wife, Runner, Administrator, Bookkeeper, Tupperware Lady, Chief Bottle Washer, General Dogsbody...

Comments are closed.