Fi's Mutterings

Disney, running, swimming, living with disability, challenges…

My Name

2 Comments

Daily Post Topic #83: How did you get your name? Who chose it, and why?

How’d I get my name? I don’t know, I was a little too young at the time to understand whatever discussion my parents had about names. I think my Dad chose it but I’m not sure why.

However, my son got his names (first and middle) because we didn’t want any names beginning with F or R – in this day and age, too many people write just the first initial plus the surname so any more Rs or Fs would have been confusing. We also didn’t want any names which we knew had been in the family before as we didn’t want to choose one side of the family over the other. As it happens my son’s middle name was actually a great-grandparent on both sides of the family! My husband and I went through the whole alphabet one night choosing names that we liked but there were only two that we could agree on for a boy and they are at opposite ends of the alphabet.

Author: fisefton

Mum, Wife, Administrator, Forever Business Owner, Bookkeeper, Tupperware Lady, Chief Bottle Washer, General Dogsbody...

2 thoughts on “My Name

  1. I’d just stick names in a hat and pick at random 😀