Fi's Mutterings

Disney, running, swimming, living with disability, challenges…

Biggest Risk?

Daily Post Topic #79: Describe the biggest risk you’ve ever taken (and what happened)

What’s the biggest risk? I’m not sure I can say that I have taken big risks, I usually think things through carefully before acting but I guess giving up my job and going back into full time education at the age of 33 was a big risk. I enjoyed my time at college and uni though and would recommend returning to education to anyone thinking about doing it. Sure it was hard but we made ends meet by budgeting as most students do and I got a “student” job in a supermarket. In fact, I am still doing my student job nearly 4 years after graduating! I can’t give up the discount card 😛

Another big risk I have taken more recently is to set up my own business. This, however, wasn’t really my choice as I was made redundant from my previous employment due to the recession. Actually, I’d set up my own business to enable me to charge my husband for doing his administration/bookkeeping which I’d been doing for free for 15 years or so and when I was made redundant and couldn’t get another part-time administration role decided to take the bull by the horns and see if I could make a go of it on my own. I can’t say that I’ve really pushed very hard to try and get clients but I’m ticking over. Fortunately, I still have the aforementioned “student” job on the weekends.

Author: fisefton

Mum, Wife, Runner, Administrator, Bookkeeper, Tupperware Lady, Chief Bottle Washer, General Dogsbody...

Comments are closed.