Fi's Mutterings

Disney, running, swimming, living with disability, challenges…

Describe the Town Where You Grew Up…

This is actually a hard question for me as I moved around a lot when I was a kid. I left the UK when I was 2 and lived overseas, apart from going to boarding school, until I was 18. So, where did I grow up? Do I say Lilongwe, Malawi? Gaborone, Botswana? Hong Kong? Harare, Zimbabwe? Croydon, where I went to boarding school? Or, Basingstoke where I lived from the age of 18 to 29?

I’m not sure which to use. I guess Croydon is the one where I spent most time although I can’t really describe it as I lived at school and didn’t really see that much of the town apart from the odd trip out of school to the town centre. I can’t say I liked it much, it was just a concrete jungle with no personality and an extension of London (it is a London borough after all) with too many people and chain stores. I much prefer where I live now.

Have I been back? No, I haven’t been back to Croydon for 20 years. I don’t need to, although I may go back to see my school one day but don’t hold your breath waiting for that to happen.

Author: fisefton

Mum, Wife, Administrator, Forever Business Owner, Bookkeeper, Tupperware Lady, Chief Bottle Washer, General Dogsbody...

Comments are closed.