Fi's Mutterings

Disney, running, swimming, living with disability, challenges…

101 in 1001

10 Comments

I read about this challenge on The Laughing Housewife’s and Sarsm’s blogs a while ago and today (23 December 2011) decided that I’d might give it a go too.  The main challenge is going to be thinking up 101 new things to do in the next 1001 days.  When will the 1001 days be up anyway?  Can I use that as one challenge?  “When is the deadline?”  I may have to if I start to struggle.

Well, here is the start of my list:

  1. Think of 101 things to do in 1001 days (1/101)
  2. Set a start date and calculate the end date
  3. Post on my blog 150 times (0/150)
  4. Hit 10,000 visits to my blog – it is currently 888 (888/10,000)
  5. Study for and get the Diploma in Manual Bookkeeping
  6. Study for and get the Diploma in Computerised Bookkeeping
  7. Study for and get the Diploma in Payroll Management
  8. Study for and get the Diploma in Self Assessment
  9. Post on Your PA Solution blog once a week for a year (0/52) – hopefully this will then become a habit
  10. Sign in to SparkPeople and spin the “wheel” every day for 300 days (best streak 181 days) *see my healthy lifestyle note regarding SparkStreaks
  11. Exercise for at least 240 minutes per week for 26 weeks (best streak 13 weeks)
  12. Drink at least 8 cups of water every day for 300 days (best streak 28 days – this one will be tough)
  13. Train for the Swimathon (end of April 2012) by going swimming for at least 30 minutes twice a week for 16 weeks
  14. Train for the Run for All 10k (beginning of August 2012) by doing 5k or 10k training at least twice a week for 30 weeks
  15. Complete the Swimathon in a faster time than last year (1 hour 52 minutes), preferably faster than 1 hour 45 minutes
  16. Complete the Run for All 10k in a faster time than last year (1 hour 15 minutes), preferably faster than 1 hour 10 minutes
  17. Complete the Race for Life 5k in a faster time than last year (37 minutes), preferably faster than 35 minutes for a new PB
  18. Run/walk/swim from home to Walt Disney World – that is 6898 km or 4286 miles and may take some doing!
  19. Go to Durham
  20. Take my boy to Swimability swimming at least once a month (0/33)
  21. Go to the cinema 6 times in the next 12 months (0/6)
  22. Go out for dinner 6 times in the next 12 months (0/6)
  23. Go to a museum in London
  24. Go to see a show in London (or York if something good comes on tour)
  25. Watch 101 new films/DVDs
  26. Read 101 new books
  27. Save £1 for each challenge completed
  28. Select photos to print to go in 2011 Disney holiday frame, print them and put them in the frame
  29. Finish the scrapbook from our 2006 Disney trip
  30. Make a scrapbook for our 2009 Disney trip
  31. Make a scrapbook for our 2011 (40th birthday) Disney trip
  32. Make a scrapbook of my boy’s first 5 years (I may add other years but as there are 17 of them I’m starting small)
  33. Finish my Christmas cross stitch
  34. Make a file of Christmas craft ideas to make for the SNAPPY Christmas Fair
  35. Complete Flylady’s baby steps – this is me trying to get the house in order and out of CHAOS (Can’t have anyone over syndrome) (0/31)
  36. Tweet at least 1 time per day (tweets mentioning my blog and retweets don’t count)
  37. Sort out all the toys in the garage and either sell or donate to SNAPPY
  38. Sort out craft supplies and either store, use or donate to SNAPPY or Applefields (my boy’s school)
  39. Clean out garage and put stuff we want to keep but not use in the loft now it has been boarded
  40. Put all reference books from PA Diploma course in a box and put it in the loft rather than having them under my desk
  41. Drink no more than 1 glass of diet coke per day for a whole month (I’m thinking maybe February 2013 when there are only 28 days in the month)
  42. Become a member of SNAPPY’s Club 100

As you can see I still have a way to go on this list so it is still a work in progress but I think that 42 things is a good start.

*Healthy Lifestyle – SparkPeople - I love SP as it is a wonderful resource for those of us wanting to lose/maintain weight and build up our fitness. One of the motivation tools on SP is the use of SparkPoints and SparkStreaks. I am basing a lot of my diet and fitness goals on those Spark Streaks and aiming to beat my previous bests.

Author: fisefton

Mum, Wife, Administrator, Bookkeeper, Tupperware Lady, Chief Bottle Washer, General Dogsbody...

10 thoughts on “101 in 1001

  1. Congratulations on starting your list!!

    No. 2: There’s a website I used to calculate my dates and other stats (like how many days are left, end dates etc), it also offers ideas for challenges. I started an account there for me but I used a pseudo name, you’ll find it here: http://dayzeroproject.com/

    Good luck with all of your challenges, we’re happy that you’re joining us, I’ll ‘advertise’ you on my update – which should be ready today and that will hopefully help with no. 4.

    Happy New Year to you, too, when it comes!!

  2. Pingback: November/December Update | Sarsm's Blog

  3. Please see my 101 in 1001 page for a full updated list of tasks

  4. Congratulations for joining the 101 in 1001 challengers. Good luck for finishing your list. Sometimes it’s the hardest part.

  5. Welcome!! So glad you’re joining us.

    Your list can be whatever you want it to be, so your first task is perfect. I have a similar task and I have not yet got my 101 challenges.

    My advice is to include some fairly easy tasks, and some that will sort of happen on their own (like the number of hits on your blog); that way, you cross things off without feeling stressed and it makes you feel good. But not too many! Challenge is good, too.

    I look forward to seeing how you go on.

    • Thank you for your comment. I have been trying to make my tasks ones which I would really like to do and, as you said, some of them will be easy and others will be challenging. I have chosen some which will happen and some which I may become additional challenges when I’ve met the initial goal e.g. reading 101 books – I read a lot but I’m not sure how many “new” books I read in a year so 101 seemed like a good number to start with.

  6. Hi! I just started with the 101 in 1001 challenge. Good luck to us! :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 148 other followers